Society

The Week Ahead: Sunday 2nd – Saturday 8th October 2022

Tuesday 4th October: Work Party: Those wishing to eat breakfast should meet at the Roadhouse Cafe in Clydach at 8am. Volunteers should assemble at 9am at Trebanos Locks where we will be continuing the WRG’s work in the lower lock and clearing the towpath bank upstream of the upper lock. Cake and hot drinks will...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 25th September – Saturday 1st October 2022

Sunday 25th September: Work Party: Meet at 9am in Coed Gwilym Park. It is hoped to begin repainting the canoe store. Tuesday 27th September: Work Party: Those wishing to eat breakfast should meet at the Roadhouse Cafe in Clydach at 8am. Volunteers should assemble at 9am at Trebanos Locks where we will be continuing the...

Vale Open Day: Saturday 24th September 2022

Vale Open Day   The Vale works in Clydach is holding an open day on Saturday 24th September, 10am to 4pm. You will have the opportunity to travel by coach around the site with a tour guide to see the work areas, finishing at the club hall where some refreshments will be provided. There will...

Sunday Work Parties

SUNDAY WORK PARTIES   With the ending of the summer season canoe and kayak hire at Coed Gwilym Park, the Society has decided to run a Sunday work party in its place. It is currently proposed that volunteers will meet every two weeks to tackle tasks that the usual Tuesday work parties are not able...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 18th – Saturday 24th September 2022

Tuesday 20th September: Work Party: Those wishing to eat breakfast should meet at the Roadhouse Cafe in Clydach at 8am. Volunteers should assemble at 9am at Trebanos Locks where we will be supporting the Waterway Recovery Group and clearing the canal above and below the locks. Cake and hot drinks will be provided but you...

Y “Swimhiker” / The “Swimhiker”

Y ‘Swimhiker’ Byddai sgwrs gwrtais rhwng gwirfoddolwyr, sy’n clirio sbwriel ar Gamlas Abertawe, â cherddwr y llwybr halio pob tro yn cynnwys y cwestiwn, ‘Pa mor bell ydych chi wedi cerdded?’ Pan fydd y sgwrs yn digwydd ar ein camlas ni, nid ydych yn disgwyl yr ateb, “o Landudno, tua 175 milltir i’r gogledd”. Ond...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 11th – Saturday 17th September 2022

Tuesday 13th September: Work Party: Those wishing to eat breakfast should meet at the Roadhouse Cafe in Clydach at 8am. Volunteers should assemble at 9am at Pontardawe, between the aqueduct and Herbert Street bridge, where we will be clearing vegetation. Cake and hot drinks will be provided but you must bring your own mug.

The Week Ahead: Sunday 4th – Saturday 10th September 2022

Sunday 4th September: Canoes & Kayaks hire at Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach has been CANCELLED until further notice. Tuesday 6th September: Work Party: Those wishing to eat breakfast should meet at the Roadhouse Cafe in Clydach at 8am. Volunteers should assemble at 9am at Trebanos Locks where we will be supporting the Waterway Recovery Group...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 28th August – Saturday 3rd September 2022

Sunday 28th August: Canoes & Kayaks for hire at Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach. First hire 10am, last hire 2pm. Cost of 45 minute hire: Canadian canoe £10; Raft (two canoes) £15; Single kayak £5, Double kayak £10. Booking no needed. Full details and conditions under “Canoe Hire” on this website. Tuesday 30th August: Work Party:...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 21st – Saturday 27th August 2022

Sunday 21st August: Canoes & Kayaks for hire at Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach. First hire 10am, last hire 2pm. Cost of 45 minute hire: Canadian canoe £10; Raft (two canoes) £15; Single kayak £5, Double kayak £10. Booking no needed. Full details and conditions under “Canoe Hire” on this website. Tuesday 23rd August: Work Party:...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 14th – Saturday 20th August 2022

Sunday 14th August: Canoes & Kayaks for hire at Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach. First hire 10am, last hire 2pm. Cost of 45 minute hire: Canadian canoe £10; Raft (two canoes) £15; Single kayak £5, Double kayak £10. Booking no needed. Full details and conditions under “Canoe Hire” on this website. Tuesday 16th August: Work Party:...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 7th – Saturday 13th August 2022

Sunday 7th August: Canoes & Kayaks for hire at Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach. First hire 10am, last hire 2pm. Cost of 45 minute hire: Canadian canoe £10; Raft (two canoes) £15; Single kayak £5, Double kayak £10. Booking no needed. Full details and conditions under “Canoe Hire” on this website. Tuesday 9th August: Work Party:...