Society

The Week Ahead: Sunday 17th – Saturday 24th March 2019

Tuesday 19th March 2019: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9 am. Work commences at 9.30 am at a) Coed Gwilym Park where we will continue with bank repairs (weather permitting) and b) Clydach Lock where we will recycle more metal shelving.

The Week Ahead: Sunday 10th – Saturday 16th March 2019

Monday 11th March: Monthly business meeting of the Swansea Canal Society at the Vadre Rugby Club, Hebron Road, Clydach at 7 p.m. All welcome. Tuesday 12th March: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9 a.m. Work starts at 9.30 a.m. in Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach where we will be...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 3rd – Saturday 9th March 2019

Tuesday 5th March 2019: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9 am. Work commences at 9.30 am at Ynysmeudwy where we will be continuing to clear the accumulated silt from between the locks.

John Hutchins Remembered

John Hutchins, Clydach John Hutchins passed away on Sunday 17th February 2019. He was the last of the old type of Swansea Canal foremen based on the Swansea Canal and who headed a small team of canal workers solely employed to maintain the Swansea Canal. John began working on the Swansea Canal as an ordinary...

Swansea Canal Records

31 July 2018 Swansea Canal records at the Public Records Office Kew The details below give a synopsis of what is contained within the Canal records. I have donated them all to the West Glamorgan Archive Service in Swansea so they are safe and available for anyone to access who has an interest. I purchased...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 24th February – Saturday 3rd March 2019

Tuesday 26th February: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9 am. Work commences at 9.30 am in Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach. Duties will include continuing rebuilding the wall adjacent to the golf club and preparatory digging out of the bank further north prior to extensive repairs with concrete filled...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 17th – Saturday 23rd February 2019

Sunday 17th February: Regular, planned work party led by Michelle. Meet at Herbert Street bridge, Pontardawe at 10.00am.  Tuesday 19th February: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9 am. Work commences at 9.30 am in Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach. Duties will include continuing rebuilding the wall adjacent to the golf...

The week ahead: Sunday 10th February – Saturday 16th February 2019

Tuesday 12th February: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9 am. Work commences at 9.30 am at Ynysmeudwy Locks, where we will complete the removal of vegetation from the pound between the locks.

The week ahead: Sunday 3rd February – Saturday 9th February 2019

Monday 4th February: Monthly business meeting of the Swansea Canal Society at the Vadre Rugby Club, Hebron Road, Clydach at 7 p.m. All welcome. Tuesday 5th February: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9 a.m. Work starts at 9.30 a.m. in Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach where we will be...

Week ahead Sunday 6th January to Saturday12th January

The Annual General Meeting will be held at Vardre Rugby Club on Monday 7th January 2019 at 7 p.m. Work Party meets at Brownsters Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8.00 and 9.00am on Tuesdy. Work will be at Ynysmeudwy Lock.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING related documents.

Agenda for the Annual General Meeting of the Swansea Canal Society to be held at Vardre Rugby Club on Monday 7th January 2019 at 7 p.m. Apologies for absence Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 29th November 2017 Matters arising from the minutes Chairman’s Report Secretary’s Report Treasurer’s Report and presentation of...

Volunteers Work Rewarded: ‘Coast and Country’, 16.11.18. ITV Wales, 8.00pm.

We welcomed the cameras and presenters of ITV Wales ‘Coast and Country’ to the canal some four weeks ago. They suggested that the piece they recorded would be broadcast in the current series of the programe and they have been true to their word. In next week’s  ‘Radio Times’  the details for ‘Coast and Country’...