Society

Christmas Dinner: Thursday 5th December 2019

  “All Work And No Play Makes Gordon A Dull Boy” Or so says the proverb. On Thursday, we enjoyed a fantastic Christmas Dinner and a good, old-fashioned sing-song at the Ynysmeudwy Arms. We all had a grand time even if the soloists probably will not be auditioning for the Welsh National Opera. Back to...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 8th – Saturday 14th December 2019

Tuesday 10th December: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Due to the expected awful weather, volunteers should assemble at the Hidden Lock Site at 9:30am when tasks will be assigned according to weather conditions. Please bring your Festive clothes, hats, etc. for Gill’s filming. 

The Week Ahead: Sunday 1st – Saturday 7th December 2019

Monday 2nd December Monthly business meeting of the Swansea Canal Society at the Vadre Rugby Club, Hebron Road, Clydach at 7pm. All welcome. [See Home Page -> Useful Documents for papers.] Tuesday 3rd December Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Two volunteer groups will be in action: Work...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 24th – Saturday 30th November 2019

Tuesday 26th November: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Weather permitting, work commences at 9.30am at Ynysmeudwy Locks, where we will be continuing with repointing the chamber and rebuilding the nearside wall of the upper lock and clearing silt from the pound between the locks. Friday 29th November:...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 17th – Saturday 23rd November 2019

Tuesday 19th November: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Work commences at 9.30am at Trebanos Locks. We will continue to clear overhanging branches from the canal south of the locks.

The Week Ahead: Sunday 10th – Saturday 16th November 2019

  Monday 11th November: Monthly business meeting of the Swansea Canal Society at the Vadre Rugby Club, Hebron Road, Clydach at 7pm. All welcome. Tuesday 12th November: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Work commences at 9.30am at Trebanos Locks. We will continue to repair the bank south...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 3rd – Saturday 9th November 2019

Tuesday 5th November: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Work commences at 9.30am at Trebanos Locks. We will continue to repair the bank south of the locks and remove weed. In addition, Gill and Ronnie will be in the Co-Op in Clydach selling bric-a-brac on behalf of the...

The Week Ahead: Sunday, 27th October – Saturday, 2nd November 2019

Tuesday 29th October: UPDATE  Due to unforeseen circumstaces, plans have changed: Work party meets at The Roadhouse Cafe, at the entrance to Players Yard between 8 and 9am. Work commences at 9:30am south of Mond Lock and behind the old Police Station in Clydach, where we will be removing weed.

The Week Ahead: Sunday 20th – Saturday 26th October 2019

Tuesday 22nd October: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Work commences at 9.30am at Trebanos Locks. We will continue to repair the bank south of the locks.

The Week Ahead: Sunday 13th – Saturday 19th October 2019

Monday 14th October: Monthly business meeting of the Swansea Canal Society at the Vadre Rugby Club, Hebron Road, Clydach at 7pm. All welcome. Tuesday 15th October: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Weather permitting, work commences at 9.30am at Ynysmeudwy Locks, where we will be continuing with repointing...

The Week Ahead: Sunday 6th – Saturday 12th October 2019

Tuesday 8th October: Work party meets at Brownster’s Cafe, High Street, Clydach between 8 and 9am. Weather permitting, work commences at 9.30am at Ynysmeudwy Locks, where we will be continuing with repointing the chamber of the upper lock, rebuilding the nearside wall and clearing vegetation from the channel.

The Week Ahead: Sunday 29th September – Saturday 5th October 2019

Sunday 29th September: Canoes & Kayaks for hire at Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach. First hire 10:30am, last hire 2:30pm. Cost of 45 minute hire: Canadian canoe £10; Raft (two canoes) £15; Single kayak £5, Double kayak £8. Full details and conditions under “Canoe Hire” on this website. This is the final public hire session for...